Is Canada divided into 10 states?

No, Canada is not divided into 10 states. However, there are 10 provinces and three territories in Canada.

Canada is made up of 10 provinces and 3 territories

10 provinces and 3 territories

Canada is divided into 10 provinces and 3 territories as a federal state. Provinces have more autonomy than territories. While the federal government has the power to pass laws that apply to the entire country, each province has its legislature that can pass laws specific to that province.

The 3 territories are Nunavut, Northwest Territories, and Yukon. These areas have less autonomy than provinces, and their legislatures have fewer powers.

The difference between provinces and territories

There are two types of subdivisions in Canada: provinces and territories. Provinces are regions that have their own governments and laws, while territories are sparsely populated areas that the federal government governs.

The main difference between provinces and territories is that provinces have more autonomy than territories. Provinces can make their laws, while territories can only make laws approved by the federal government. Provinces also have their police forces, while territories do not.

Another difference between provinces and territories is that provinces are represented in the Senate, while territories are not. This means that provinces have a greater say in the legislative process than territories.

Finally, provinces have more resources than territories. This is because they receive transfer payments from the federal government, while territories do not.

The provinces

There are ten provinces in Canada: Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, and Saskatchewan. Each province has its unique history, culture, and geography.

The provinces are divided into smaller administrative regions called counties, districts, or municipalities. The largest province by population is Ontario, while the smallest is Prince Edward Island. The westernmost province is British Columbia, while the easternmost is Newfoundland and Labrador.


The territories of Canada have no inherent sovereignty and only those powers delegated to them by the federal government. There are three territories in Canada, listed in order of precedence. The 3 territories are Nunavut, Northwest Territories, and Yukon. Another territory, the District of Keewatin, existed from 1876 until 1905, when it rejoined the Northwest Territories.


When you look at a map of Canada, you’ll notice that the country is densely populated near the Canada-US border. The four largest provinces in size are also among the most populous. Together, these provinces account for 86% of Canada’s population. The territories cover 67% of Canada’s area (but only 0,3% of its population) can skew national population density values.

Canada has a population of about 39 million people. All but one province was affected by population change in the past 10 years. Even on the slowest scale, Alberta’s population grew by 11% over that same period, with Nunavut’s increasing by 12%. New Brunswick lost 0.5% of its population.

Canada, as a whole, has seen steady growth in population over time. However, some provinces, such as Saskatchewan and Prince Edward Island, have experienced long periods of stagnation or decline. Ontario and Quebec, the two largest provinces in Canada by population, account for about 60% of the population at any given time. The population in Western Canada has grown relative to that of Eastern Canada.


Traditionally, provinces have had much power relative to the federal government, with jurisdiction over many public goods such as health care, education, welfare, and intra-provincial transportation. For example, they receive “transfer payments” from the federal government to help pay for these services. They also have their taxes. But in practice, the federal government can use these transfer payments to influence these provincial areas – for example, by requiring that provinces agree to specific mandates to be eligible for medical funding under Medicare.

Canada has two houses of parliament: a lower house, called the House of Commons; and an upper house, called the Senate. Lower chambers – known as provincial legislatures or legislative assemblies – are found in all provinces except Quebec. Members of these chambers are known as Members of the Provincial Parliament or MPPs (in Ontario) or as Members of the House of Assembly (in Nova Scotia).


The significant difference between a Canadian province and a territory is that provinces receive their power and authority from the Constitution Act of 1867 (formerly called the British North America Act of 1867). In contrast, territorial governments are creatures of the statute with powers delegated to them by the Parliament of Canada.