Discovering Canada

Canada is the second largest country in the world, after Russia. It offers endless engaging experiences to travelers and divides Canada into 13 different regions, offering a unique experience that one may find appealing. Each region has its characteristics, so it will be tricky to decide which region or entire country to visit. If you’re … Read more

Historical overview of Canada

Canada is a nation of multiculturalism and many cultures. Indigenous peoples had inhabited Canada for thousands of years and traveled through North America in ancient times before Europeans arrived. In the late 18th century, British colonialism in North America began with colonies along the Atlantic coast. Learn more about Canada’s history in a nutshell in … Read more

Nunavut

Formation: 1999. The origin of the name: Inuktitut for “our land.” 8 AM AST = noon GMT; 7 AM EST = noon GMT; 6 AM CST = noon GMT; 5 AM MST = noon GMT. Nunavut is a Canadian territory, which also can be referred to as the Arctic region. It was created in 1999 … Read more

Yukon

Formation: 1898. The name’s origin: Yukon was first used by the Hudson’s Bay Company trader John Bell in 1846. He called it “Yucon,” derived from the Loucheux Indian word Yuchoo, meaning “the greatest river.” The Yukon Territory is a territory of Canada, and it is the second-largest one in the country. The capital is Whitehorse. … Read more

Saskatchewan

Formation: 1905. The origin of the name: Derived from the Cree Indian word kisiskatchewanisipi, which means “swift-flowing river,” and was first used to describe the Saskatchewan River. TIME: 6 AM CST = noon GMT; 5 AM MST = noon GMT. Saskatchewan is a province in the east-central part of Canada. With about 1 million residents, … Read more

Manitoba

Formation: 1870. The origin of the name: Likely comes from either the Cree Indian manitowapow or the Ojibway Indian Manitou bou (both of which mean “the narrows of the Great Spirit”). The words referred to Lake Manitoba, which narrows to less than 5/8 of a mile (1 kilometer) at its center. The waves hitting the … Read more

Alberta

Formation: 1905. Named after Princess Louise Caroline Alberta, fourth daughter of Queen Victoria. Time: 5 AM MST = noon GMT. Alberta is the fourth-largest province in Canada. It shares a border with British Columbia and Saskatchewan in the east and the North American Great Plains to the south. Its western area has a hilly, rocky … Read more