Formation: 1999. Nunavut is a Canadian territory, which also can be referred to as the Arctic region. It was created in 1999 in the eastern half of the Northwest Territories. Nunavut encompasses the Indigenous peoples’ traditional lands of the Arctic, the Inuit people. Their language is called Inuktitut, and it means “Our land.” At the … Read more


Formation: 1898. The Yukon Territory is a territory of Canada, and it is the second-largest one in the country. The capital is Whitehorse. It has an area of 1,567,874 square kilometers. The population is just over 38,000 people. When British Columbia was merged with Canada, it became the only Canadian territory left in North America … Read more


Formation: 1905. Saskatchewan is a province in the east-central part of Canada. With about 1 million residents, it is one of the least densely populated provinces. The capital city of Saskatchewan, which is also its largest city, is Regina. Saskatoon, Moose Jaw, and Prince Albert are other vital cities in Saskatchewan. Saskatchewan, the Canadian prairie … Read more


Formation: 1870. Manitoba is the fourth-most populous province in Canada. It has been inhabited for thousands of years by different indigenous tribes. The first European settlement was in 1690, with the Hudson’s Bay Company setting up a fur-trading post that later became the city of Portage la Prairie. Manitoba is one of Canada’s most popular … Read more

British Columbia

Formation: 1871. British Columbia is located on the western coast of Canada. It’s bordered by the Pacific Ocean, Alberta, and the United States. The climate in British Columbia varies from dry and sunny with warm summers to wet and cloudy with cold winters. Despite its coastal location, many parts of British Columbia are covered in … Read more


Formation: 1905. Alberta is the fourth-largest province in Canada. It shares a border with British Columbia and Saskatchewan in the east and with the North American Great Plains to the south. Its western area has a hilly, rocky terrain that gives way to prairies where agriculture dominates and few trees. It was initially inhabited by … Read more


Formation: 1867. Québec is a province in Canada that is just north of Vermont. It is the largest province in Canada and is known for its food and culture; and is Canada’s only officially French-speaking province. The capital of Québec is Québec City, which is where you’ll find the historic Citadelle and the Musée national … Read more


Formation: 1867. Ontario is Canada‘s most populous province and home to the country’s capital, Ottawa. Ontario is also Canada’s economic engine, with a diverse economy including agriculture, manufacturing, and financial services. The province boasts 12 universities, two of which are among the oldest in North America. It has 14,571,494 people living there (2019). It’s also … Read more

Nova Scotia

Formation: 1867. Nova Scotia is a Canadian province with two central coastal regions: the northern maritime region and the southern coastal region. The province’s capital city is Halifax, and it also has Lamentin, Dartmouth, Bedford, and Antigonish as some of its other major cities. Nova Scotia is one of Canada‘s smallest provinces, but it is … Read more