Halifax

Halifax is located in the province of Nova Scotia, Canada. The city has a population of about 440,000 and is known for its beautiful coastline, lively downtown core, and diverse culture. With so much to offer visitors, it’s no surprise that tourism is one of the critical industries in Halifax. Nova Scotia is a province … Read more

Appalachian Region

With Canada’s vast, diverse nature prairies and forests and its long history of human settlement and cultural change, the Appalachian Region is a fascinating place to explore. However, this region is also home to some of Canada‘s most environmentally-sensitive places and culturally significant sites. Canada’s Appalachian Region is a system that spans the Atlantic Continental … Read more

Interior Plains

The Interior Plains are a significant natural region in Canada. It surrounds Western Canada and Eastern Canada and is bordered by the Rocky Mountains to the west and the Appalachians to the east. The region known as the Interior Plains extends from the Canadian Shield to the western ranges. It covers over 1.8 million km2 … Read more

What are Canada’s 7 geographic regions?

Canada is a country with rich and diverse geography. From the stunning coastline of the Atlantic Provinces to the rugged mountains of the West, there is something for everyone in this great country. This article will explore Canada’s seven geographic regions in detail. Canada is divided into seven physiographic regions: Arctic Lands, Cordillera, Interior Plains, … Read more

Nunavut

Formation: 1999. The origin of the name: Inuktitut for “our land.” 8 AM AST = noon GMT; 7 AM EST = noon GMT; 6 AM CST = noon GMT; 5 AM MST = noon GMT. Nunavut is a Canadian territory, which also can be referred to as the Arctic region. It was created in 1999 … Read more

Yukon

Formation: 1898. The name’s origin: Yukon was first used by the Hudson’s Bay Company trader John Bell in 1846. He called it “Yucon,” derived from the Loucheux Indian word Yuchoo, meaning “the greatest river.” The Yukon Territory is a territory of Canada, and it is the second-largest one in the country. The capital is Whitehorse. … Read more

Saskatchewan

Formation: 1905. The origin of the name: Derived from the Cree Indian word kisiskatchewanisipi, which means “swift-flowing river,” and was first used to describe the Saskatchewan River. TIME: 6 AM CST = noon GMT; 5 AM MST = noon GMT. Saskatchewan is a province in the east-central part of Canada. With about 1 million residents, … Read more

Manitoba

Formation: 1870. The origin of the name: Likely comes from either the Cree Indian manitowapow or the Ojibway Indian Manitou bou (both of which mean “the narrows of the Great Spirit”). The words referred to Lake Manitoba, which narrows to less than 5/8 of a mile (1 kilometer) at its center. The waves hitting the … Read more

Alberta

Formation: 1905. Named after Princess Louise Caroline Alberta, fourth daughter of Queen Victoria. Time: 5 AM MST = noon GMT. Alberta is the fourth-largest province in Canada. It shares a border with British Columbia and Saskatchewan in the east and the North American Great Plains to the south. Its western area has a hilly, rocky … Read more